86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Aisin Hub Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2006, 07:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Aisin Hub Problems

just purchased a pair of aisin hubs for my 95 4runner. when the dial is turned to free they are still locked. i have everything put together correct (so i think). when i pull the hub face from the body by only an 1/8 of an inch then they disconnect and i can turn the inner hub body freely. but once i push the face on the body where it belongs nothing its as if they are locked. They are acting just like the stupid add plates i took off in the first place. I was wondering if anyone has had these problems before and if so what should i do. i am new to this thing so any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 06-12-2006, 09:31 AM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Try reading this:

http://www.off-road.com/toyota/tech/aisin/

Old 06-12-2006, 10:04 AM

well i have looked at all this and still nothing. i have the tension spring on the right tooth on the clutch and it still wont disengage properly. is there anyways to tell if maybe i have the wrong parts on the wrong hub. i bought the hub from a 4runner just like mine so everything should work. the hub body fits on the axle fine and everything matches. it just wont disengage
Old 06-13-2006, 03:08 PM

When I rebuilt my Aisin hubs I had a similar issue. Take a look at

http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...14freewhee.pdf

Using the descriptions in that .PDF, the tension spring partially threads into the clutch. (drawing FA063, next to "3. Install tension spring into clutch", on page 4)

Look carefully at the drawing FA064, next to "4. Install follower pawl to clutch", on page 4.