86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

ABS wheel speed sensor?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2018, 07:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation ABS wheel speed sensor?

Hey fellow yota enthusiasts. I’m new to the scene and starting off my 2nd Gen T4R build, also I apologize in advance for my noob questions and any unclear yota vocabulary.
A Spartan locker is on order for my truck, so before it arrives I figured I’d prep the truck so I could speed up the install process. When I drained the rear diff and then began to work at removing the sensor up on top of the differential. (Im not positive what it’s called and what it does, ABS? Wheel speed sensor?) ANYWAY.. it was stuck in there pretty good, and unfortunately I wasn’t careful enough and it broke from the top, leaving the remaining body of the sensor in the differential.

1. I’m wondering if this sensor stuck in there will stop the third member from coming out?
2.Does this send info back to the speedometer for vehicle speed or is it for ABS?
-If it is for ABS(which I don’t mind not having), if I go without replacing it will it affect anything other than the abs system?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I wanna get this rear locked today!!��

OH! And it’s a 93’ 3veezy with a M/T

Last edited by adrianbarbosa; 06-20-2018 at 07:46 AM.
Old 06-20-2018, 01:21 PM
RJR

Received 109 Likes on 81 Posts
I did the same thing when I put in my TrueTrac. It's easy to do.

The sensor counts the teeth on the ring gear as they go by to indicate rear axle average speed. It's for the rear wheel ABS, and has no other function. The speedometer is driven from a speed sensor on the output shaft of the transfer case, so not affected by this.

To answer your questions,
1) It won't keep the 3rd from coming out.