86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

95 4runner, needs engine, what will work as a swap

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2018, 03:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
95 4runner, needs engine, what will work as a swap

I'm looking at 1995 4runner that needs a new motor, has a manual transmission so it's tempting me but I'm not sure what I'm in for with this truck. I keep reading the 3.0 motors r notoriously bad but I'm just looking for something to use as a secondary vehicle and don't want to break the bank on it.i found a used 3.0l motor out of an 89 pickup for sale but I'm not sure if this would be a straight swap or not. Anyone that could give me some direction I'd appreciate it. I'm not very experienced with a lot of this but I feel like I can find my way with a little direction (in other words I'm willing to give it a shot haha). I'm not 100% opposed to a rebuild but I've never done one before so I'm not sure if that's a reasonable option either or what I would be in for as far as cost..... Any ideas or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
thanks
Pat
Old 02-18-2018, 03:53 PM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Welcome to YotaTech.
Originally Posted by 96t100whiteghost
... don't want to break the bank ...
Stroll this forum for a while. You'll find lots of threads by owners who love and baby their truck, but the years are taking their toll, and the money (and time!) is starting to leak away.

YOU don't love this truck. No one has babied it. It can't be test-driven. It's 22 years old, and you're thinking of buying a 29 year old used engine.

And you don't know all that much (yet) about what it's going to take.