86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

'94 V6 RWD Auto 4Runner transmission and thermostat issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2013, 02:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'94 V6 RWD Auto 4Runner transmission and thermostat issues

Hey all, new to the forum so thanks for your patience. I have a 1994 4Runner with the 3.0 V6, RWD, and an automatic transmission. It's mostly stock (which is fine by me) and it's got just over 200,000 miles on the odometer and an engine that was rebuilt about 10,000 miles ago. It's been a great truck, I absolutely love it, but recently I've been experiencing some transmission problems and I'd like your advice.

I'll try to lay out all the information I can. I'm not very good with cars (though I'm learning) and I suspect that I've already made a couple of (hopefully non-serious, easily-corrected) mistakes that might be contributing to my problem. I can follow instructions, but when left on my own I am not exactly the most useful person as far as cars and trucks are concerned.

So the first thing that I noticed was that every once in a while, when I first started the truck, the engine wouldn't idle quite right. It would sort of pulse up and down a bit like the idle speed wasn't quite enough to keep the engine going, and once or twice it actually did stall out. Shifting into gear and driving even a tiny bit would fix this – I wouldn't have to get the engine warmed up, just driving the car a few feet down the road would get it back to normal. This went on for a couple of weeks, and I had a mental note to take it in to a mechanic as soon as I could manage.