86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

86 Toyota 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 Toyota 4runner

I am the original owner of an 86 4runner, auto tranmission, 22RE, EFI. Anyways, I'm new to yotatech, and have ran out of places to turn. I love my runner but for the past couple of years it hasn't shifted properly. I have payed to have new shift sensors, and the transmission to be rebuilt by dealers. These have not worked. It will shift half the time, the other half I have to manually shift. I am very mechanical and have been trying to figure it out myself. I have adjusted the kick-down on the throttle body to .040" from rubber boot to cable stop. I really want to fix this. Anyone know how to fix?
Old 09-20-2006, 01:15 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Does the overdrive light blink while driving? Have you replaced the ecm for the transmission? It's in the console, under the radio.
Old 09-20-2006, 02:16 PM

The overdrive light does not blink. Light works correctly. Are you talking about the ECU behind the passenger kick panel? I haven't bought a reader to hook up to it yet, but I plan on it. Will this help to diagnose a transmission problem?
Old 09-20-2006, 08:35 PM
Donny, you're out of your element
Staff

Received 54 Likes on 34 Posts
There is a seperate Trans shift computer under the center console. This is NOT the main ECU for the engine, but rather a seperate computer for the ECT (Electronically Controlled Transmission). Sounds like that is your problem.

Overdrive really doesn't havbe much to do with the shifting of the trans. Usually the reader doesn't help with the trans. You will need to pull the Trans ECU and test/replace it.
Old 09-20-2006, 09:52 PM