86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22RTE Oversized pistons

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2009, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22RTE Oversized pistons

So im a newb on this site and have some questions and figured everyone on this site would have some good answers. I've tried searching the web and this site but i haven't been able to get any.

Im currently rebuilding my 86 22rte, my block is at a machinist's house and so after him measuring everything he told me that i should look for another block because it is already bored .20 over and that Toyota doesn't recommend anything past .30 im gonna start having overheating problems. Is this true? I wanted to just get it bored .40 over because he says that .30 wont be enough to clean up the cylinders. Will .40 be fine?

I was looking into getting some Weisco pistons and using my stock rods n crank (getting the crank turned and micro polished), and having the rotating assembly balanced. What do you guys think about that? Any info is much appreciated.

Thank You,

Andy
Old 05-28-2009, 08:13 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
No, not true.
If the stock cooling system can deal with people pushing 15+ PSI boost from a 22RTE, it can deal with stock boost and .040 over. The biggest problem would come from making sure the compression ratio isn't adversely affected by the overbore and larger pistons, which if not dealt with could lead to detonation (but not likely since stock internals will handle 15+ PSI boost).
Now the machinist may be accurate in saying .030 isn't enough and .040 is what you need but to suggest that installing proper oversized pistons will over tax the cooling system suggests he's not all that familiar with these engines.

Personally, I think you'll be fine.
Old 05-28-2009, 10:00 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
why would lager pistons cause... nevermind...