Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22RE sluggish

Old 01-17-2010, 07:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had the same symptoms after a fool tried to "help", and "fix" my rich running 22re.
He adjusted the timing, so it would run real good at idle.
It did, but anything up to 3000 rpm's were not happening when driving.
After I could not get out of an intersection, up a hill or anywhere sensible. Turned the thing into a complete road hazard.
One screw by the distributor, and bumped the timing bak to where it used to be, and things are good again.

I'm no expert, but the same symptoms happened to me, and easy fix.
One way or the other, make sure the timing is correct.

I had a new fuel filter, new injectors,new plugs, new cap and rotor, new wires,freshly adjusted (new)TPS,a clean TB, adjusted dashpot and throttle stop, good coolant, new coolant temp sensor, a working AFM, a clean filter, a cat with less than 3000Km on it, fresh oil, full tank of gas, no codes and still it can be made to run like crap.
Old 01-19-2010, 08:40 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by 4Reigner
I had the same symptoms after a fool tried to "help", and "fix" my rich running 22re.
He adjusted the timing, so it would run real good at idle.
It did, but anything up to 3000 rpm's were not happening when driving.
After I could not get out of an intersection, up a hill or anywhere sensible. Turned the thing into a complete road hazard.
One screw by the distributor, and bumped the timing bak to where it used to be, and things are good again.

I'm no expert, but the same symptoms happened to me, and easy fix.
One way or the other, make sure the timing is correct.