Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

VSV? TVSV? Vacuum Issues?

Old 10-19-2010, 06:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
VSV? TVSV? Vacuum Issues?

The truck:
A red '81 with 7" lift on 33s

Ok, so, here's the deal. I don't have a large running problem, except that it idles very high (over 1,500) and if I try to adjust the idle down to spec (700-ish) it dies. So, here are some pics, I'm hoping somebody can help me identify what certain parts are. (Alarms should be ringing, total newbie here)

In the pic below, I'm pretty sure the distributor advance is hooked up totally wrong (looks like it's going straight into a VSV?

Furthermore, as you may notice, there's a total lack of vacuum pretty much everywhere else. While this isn't necessarily a problem (yet) I'm going to need it to pass smog in August.

Also, I'm pretty sure this hood isn't the one that belongs with my pickup, as it's an '81 with a 22R, this vacuum diagram is from under the hood...

Last but not least, I need a replacement for the P/S gearbox, the local pick & pull was a bust. Anybody?

Old 10-19-2010, 06:29 PM

I should also note that the EGR isn't hooked up, and the pcv isn't connected.
Old 10-19-2010, 06:46 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
I can see a lot of uncapped vacuum lines and vacuum lines going to the wrong place. Whats with the vacuum line on the distributor going to the vsv, it doesn`t belong there.
Old 10-19-2010, 06:49 PM

That's a great question. It was that way when I bought it from "the mechanic" (some self-proclaimed "former" mechanic, should have been my first clue to run away, lol)

Is that vsv even in the right place?
Old 10-19-2010, 07:18 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts