Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Rusty cracked chassis on '83 pickup

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2019, 12:38 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Rusty cracked chassis on '83 pickup

Hello, Here's my first forum post.
I'm a welding student and I'm transferring schools from AR to FL in a month so I can move back home. I bought this truck yesterday to make the trip in. I thought I gave it a pretty good looking over but when I got it back I realized that I'd overlooked how rusted out the chassis is at the back of the truck (its fine in the front). No one to blame but myself, although the dealer was lying when he said it was an '85 (as far as I can tell).
Anyways, I won't have access to a real shop until I get to Florida. If you guys want to place bets on whether or not the truck makes it, go ahead and get started.
In the meantime, I'm trying to find access to a shop (anyone in AR or MO?) and brainstorming the best course of action.

Like I said I'm a welding STUDENT - I'm learning AWS D1.1 structural welding code, but I'm assuming this is heat treated steel?*** Can you anneal it with a torch after welding?

Other than that, the engine runs fine but it does some shaking, especially when shutting it off but it was also a pretty bouncy ride. There's just those two mounting brackets that you can see from under the hood, right? I was excited to make this my pet project but now I figure my leaf spring is going to blow through the frame somewhere in Alabama next month...

***edit/update: I made a duplicate of this thread on the weldingweb forum and have thus far heard that this chassis is NOT heat treated, that Toyota introduced heat treated chassis in the late 80's on one of the Helix's. Can anyone confirm that? If that's true, I'm thinking I can patch up on the worst parts for the drive to FL and then fix it for real over the summer.

Last edited by j.mauer; 04-06-2019 at 02:56 PM. Reason: updated
The following users liked this post:
alf86 (04-13-2019)
Old 04-06-2019, 04:00 PM