Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

1983 running for 500 - good deal?

Old 08-09-2016, 07:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1983 running for 500 - good deal?

Hi guys, I am new to yotatech and have been in the market for a toyota pickup/tacoma or 4runner.

I recently found a 1983 toyota pickup 22r 2wd for 500 but it is in really bad shape. The engine and transmission work perfectly, it has 130,000 miles, and has a flatbed (probably because the bed rusted out because of the different alloy that was used in the bed). The truck is functional and drive able but it has several rust spots (not rusted through though), is dented, and is missing seats, ac, radio, interior door panels, steering column, parts of the dashboard, and windshield wipers. One wheel has a small hole as well so it slowly leaks.

I dont know whether this is a good deal or not? If someone could shed some light on the matter that would be great!
Thanks - Prime
Old 08-09-2016, 09:02 PM

Received 568 Likes on 448 Posts
Welcome to Yotatech!

It is hard to say if it is a good deal or not. Posting some pictures would give us a better idea of what you are looking at.

Are you mechanically inclined?? Do you know how to weld?

Obviously this truck needs a lot of work. Some parts might be hard to find ( like most of the interior and trim).

The work and cost needed to bring this truck up to par may be too much.

What are your plans for this truck?? Camping, trail rig, Daily Driver, restoration project??

From your description, pretty much a full restoration or resto- mod is needed.

Old 08-10-2016, 09:28 AM

I didn't take any pictures when I went to see the truck and the craigslist posting has expired so I dont have any pictures
I have worked on my own cars before, but I do not know how to weld. The frame seems solid though and without rust.