Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 4runner Need Help to Modify

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2007, 02:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96 4runner Need Help to Modify

Hey yall, im pretty new to 4x4 but its a hell of a lot of fun the few times i have gone. I own a 1996 Model Toyota 4runner. I'm looking to make it better at offroading. Right now everything on my car is stock. I was wondering if any1 could give me any advice on what i need to modfiy.

my friends say i should get a body lift first and i found a 2.5" lift in ebay
heres the exact title:
PRO COMP POLY SPACER 2.5" LIFT KIT 96-02 TOYOTA 4RUNNER
for 65$. is this worth getting?

any advice on the multiple things lol i covered in the above space would be greatly appreciated. thx in advance.

also i one more thing: i really need to get to learn all the names and functions of everything inside a car that makes it work, like gears and stuff (? lol) and yea. if anyone could send me a link to a good website so i could learn how mycar works i would appreciate that a lot. thx.
Old 01-31-2007, 03:40 PM

Well it all depends on what kinda of tire size you wanna run and how serious your going to get. 90% of people on this forum will tell you that you should lock your truck front a rear first, then get armor, then go for lift and tires. I dont 100% agree with that seeing as I did tires and lift, locker, and armor is on the list still.

If I was you I'd go for that kit (which is made of pucks btw. they are a 2.5inch spacer between the spring and the frame) get a 2 or 3" body lift and grab some 33's (Wrangler mt/r's by my preference). Alot of people on here will disagree with me but thats my opinion. After that I would lock the rear and possibly the front and start looking at armor. What ever you do dont half ass things cause you will pay for it...