86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Sandbox's 1988 22RE pickup Build up thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2012, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sandbox's 1988 22RE pickup Build up thread

Hey guys! Some of you probably saw me posting in the newbie thread about buying this thing. Well, here's the updates as far as what I've done. Keep in mind the point of buying this thing was to learn some automotive skills and end up with a cool toy at the end. I'm COMPLETELY new to this, so wish me luck. Constructive criticism is always appreciated!
Without further adieu, here's how it started out:

Ran ok, seemed a little sluggish, burned a little oil. Paid $2300. Probably could have haggled them down some, but it was a young couple with a new baby and they looked like they needed the money.
Old 01-30-2012, 06:37 PM

Repairing rust

So the bed on this thing has a LOT of rust! In fact the bed has so many holes in it I've decided to keep the plastic bedliner just so I don't have to worry about stuff falling through the bed lol. Here's how I fixed the rust holes before painting:

Here's a sample rust hole:

Same rust hole. Rust and paint cleaned down to bare metal with the angle grinder and a wire-bristle brush disc.:

Then spot spray where the rust used to be with some primer. (no picture)
Old 01-30-2012, 06:50 PM

Painting the truck

First you're going to start by sanding/roughing up the paint some. I used a 3m pad that looked like a cross between a sponge and a brillo pad. It worked really well but it didn't show up well in the pictures I took.