Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

preparing for a s.a.s

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2007, 10:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
preparing for a s.a.s

Im buying the axle tuesday. Im gonna do a sas on my 91. just had a few questions. I have never done something this extensive before.

1. my arb bumper will no longer be usable because front spring perches will be in way. What winch bumper would u guys suggest using so i can still have my winch?

2. I want to use the kit from wab fab seems cheapest and comes with everything needed. Has anyone used this kit v.s. others what do u suggest?

3. is it necesarry to move i.f.s steering box when using highsteer knuckles. If so how big of a pain is the part to do?

4. I dont want a mechanical locker up front because u cant steer and dont have the mony for selectable. I have detroit limited front and rear now with ifs. what would u guys suggest as to put in with straight axle. How popular is limited slip in s.f.a. I really dont want to leave it open.

5. what are pros and cons of doing this swap on a daily driver. Im young and dont care about ride quality lol. Thanks in advance guys im sure it will be very helpful.

Last edited by weakyota91; 06-28-2007 at 10:57 PM.
Old 06-29-2007, 04:19 AM
Contributing Member

the bumper will be useable, but you have to modify it. I'll be modifying my Warn bumper for the same.

limited slips are crappy. An automatic locker is fine. I ran a lockrite in my IFS without any issues, it deactivates in turns, so yes, you can steer. Whoever told you you can't is BSing you.

I bought the T-G kit from Wabfab and it's complete.
Old 08-17-2007, 02:04 AM

Bump...I will be SAs soon
Old 08-17-2007, 05:16 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
everyone and their sister has used that kit. It is good.