General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Auxilary Reverse Lamps?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 06:53 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auxilary Reverse Lamps?

Okay, I have a set of rearward facing roof rack lights, and something particular I want to do with them. I know it can be done but I'm not an electrical expert by any means and I want it done as clean and simple as possible.

What I want is for the reverse lights to come on when the truck is put into reverse(easily done by tapping into the back up lights hot wire, but I want to be able to turn this feature off with a rocker switch in the dash. Can someone explain how this can be done in the most simple way and still be safe. I plan on doing my entire set of rack light all at once and doing it right, a hole right though the roof with all the wires hidden so I want to do it right the first time.

-Scott

HAPPY POLITICALLY CORRECT HOLIDAYS :xmas13:
Old 12-25-2005, 08:40 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Get a Single Pole Double Throw (SPDT) switch, one that is On-Off-On and wire one pole to the reverse light circuit, run the other wire to a 12V source and connect the center of the switch to a relay that powers the lights. Then with the switch one way, the relay (and lights) will come on with the main reverse lights. With the switch in the middle (off) position, nothing will happen and with it in the other on position, the lights will turn on and off with the switch.
Old 12-25-2005, 09:01 PM
Contributing Member

Check this thread...Auxillary Reverse Lights
Old 12-26-2005, 06:51 AM
Contributing Member

Thanks guys, that's what I was looking for. I want to use a Toyota OEM fog light switch just to keep the look clean and stock, but I can hide a On-off-On switch somewhere if that's what is going to work best?
Old 12-26-2005, 09:57 AM