General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Mobil1 SuperSyn Extended Performance...Would you go 10k+ between oil changes?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2006, 02:58 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mobil1 SuperSyn Extended Performance...Would you go 10k+ between oil changes?

I've been using Mobil1 SuperSyn for a couple of years now with a Mobil1 filter. I usually go 5000 miles between oil changes. This time all they had was the extended performance filter so I figured I'd give the extended performance oil a try as well. The bottle says "guaranteed engine protection for 15,000 miles." I have a really hard time believing this. That's a long time and seems awfully risky. I know there's alot of Amsoil users on here and it's pretty much the same....leave it in there forever. How has it worked out for you? Are there any risks in going 10k between oil changes even if they say it's ok? Later.

Matt
Old 01-13-2006, 06:31 PM

I was wondering the same thing. I'll be putting mobile 1 in mine tommorrow for the 1st time since my swap. I think I'll let it go for about 7000 before I change it again. If I was you I wouldn't go more than 10k without an oil change but I've heard that the synthetic oils don't break down and gum up like regular oil.
Old 01-13-2006, 06:43 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've been going 10K on my Taurus with regular Mobile 1. I change the oil filter and top-up at 5K. NAPA gold filter.
Old 01-13-2006, 07:12 PM
Contributing Member

I've read through the oil change interval post numerous times b/c I felt the same as you. After PMing a few of the individuals that have been doing this for a number of years w/ their trucks and knowing that I don't use my truck as hard as they do, I'm trying it w/ Amsoil. My only concern is that I have only owned the truck for six months so I'll check every 3k miles to make sure my truck is not burning oil.