Sponsored by: DashLynx

95 4Runner won't start

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2005, 08:37 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
95 4Runner won't start

My 4Runner won't start.
Earlier in the week it seemed to be cranking a little slower than usual, but I attributed that to the fact that I'm not driving it every day like I used to. Then one evening the check engine light came on, but it drove home OK. The next evening it didn't come on so I wrote it off as a non-issue.

This morning all I heard when I turned the key to Start was a little click from under the hood. It has plenty of lights, and volts, but I hooked up the jumper cables to our other truck just for the heck of it. No difference.

I searched prior posts but didn't come up with anything difinitive. Could the starter be bad? I'm no mechanic, but what could I check before I resort to calling The Hook? It's like 100 degrees heat index and the Runner is sitting on hot black top, so trouble shooting blind isn't much fun!
Old 08-14-2005, 08:50 AM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Could be a number of things. Do a little troubleshooting, especially the voltage at the starter solenoid control wire while trying to start, and see where that points you:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/Starter.shtml
Old 08-14-2005, 04:26 PM
Contributing Member

Great page, thanks! I'll get cracking on it tomorrow after work.
Old 08-22-2005, 04:15 AM
Contributing Member

It was the starter, and they aren't cheap! But this was the first time my 4Runner ever failed to start for me in 141,000 miles, other than a dead battery once. And it did have the decency to crap out in my driveway, so I really can't complain!
Old 12-26-2005, 02:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation