84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

85 yota 4wd locking front hub?

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2007, 12:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
85 yota 4wd locking front hub?

Hi Im new to the wheeling scene and I just picked up an 85 yota pickup 4x4 SAS. I was wondering about when I engage 4 wheel drive and lock my manual front hubs. Does that means that the front wheels are locked together? But separate from the rear wheels that are open diff. And that if i were to get uneven traction the rear wheels will get no traction.

Now if I got a locker for the rear axle. Those two wheels will now be locked, right?

Hopefully someone understands what Im trying to say. I have so many questions in my head and just dont know how to get them all out in order. It would be great if someone can just give me details as to how my 4wd truck transfers power to the wheels while managing uneven traction conditions. The truck is all stock. Also would a rear locker be a good idea? What kind?Why? Thanks http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/5240/p1010146nc2.jpg

Last edited by per5uas1an; 08-05-2007 at 01:30 PM.
Old 08-05-2007, 01:20 PM

First your truck is not SAS'd. It came factory with a solid front axle.

When you engage 4 wheel drive the transfer case delivers equal power to your front and rear differentials. If one tire loses traction on either the front or real axle the opposite tire on that axle will get the most if not all of the power. If you installed a locker in your rear differential this will prevent one tire fire by giving both wheels equal power. Same goes for the front differential.

Read this to understand how differentials work.
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential2.htm

Read this to understand how locking differentials(lockers) work.
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/differential6.htm
Old 08-05-2007, 01:56 PM