GPS & Communication Discussions here pertain to the use and troubleshooting of GPS, CB radio, and amateur radio

Cobra 75 WXST Setup Qs

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2004, 08:02 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cobra 75 WXST Setup Qs

I'm looking at a Cobra 75 WXST for my Taco. For various reasons I don't want a full blow CB deck in my truck right now and this seems to be the way to go for my purposes.

However, I'm new to CB. I know you push the button you talk and you can change channels and get weather reports. Installing is another matter.

I went down to Fry's today to get something and had a walk down the CB isle. There's a lot of stuff!

I know I need the CB unit, some kind of cable to run to the antenna and an antenna.

Cna someone help me put together a list of parts necessary to get the job done? I mostly will use it for the trails 95% of the time I'm pretty sure. So it's not something that has to be permanent but I wouldn't mind if it was as long as I can manage to install it really nice and clean.

I was thinking what if I ordered the Toyota antenna mount and put it on the driver's side to match the passenger side one and put a CB antenna off of that? That would be a clean install to me.

Anything will help!

Thanks.
Old 07-30-2004, 10:09 AM
Contributing Member

Location: Home: Aurora, CO; Work: The People's Republic of Denver
Go to www.firestick.com, they have all the info you'll need. Also, try a search here, there's a wealth of info on this site.
Old 07-30-2004, 12:54 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
darx,

both tdiddy, myself and waskillywabbit have writeups on the cobra 75. tdiddy and my writeups are in the tech section or you can find mine at http://www.4runners.org/articles/cobra . waskilly's is on his website.

bob
Old 07-30-2004, 01:39 PM

Looking for a clean install:
http://home.earthlink.net/~grillmast...ges/Tacoma/CB/

I mounted the 75wxst remote box above the SRS computer (behind the ashtray/12volt cig console)