Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Replacing Suspension

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2006, 10:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing Suspension

So I've done some searching, and come up wth a few good tips, but I'm just looking for anything extra that I might need to know.

in a couple of days I'm going to be replacing the shocks and struts on my truck. I've never done suspension work before, but I've done plenty of other stuff, so I'm sure I can handle it. I'm not too worried about the struts, because they look fairly simple. Probably the hardest part being changing the coil with the spring compressor.

I'm more concerned about the difficulty of the rear shocks. The chilton is pretty vague, so I'm just looking for any tips/tricks, or necessary information that I might need to know for this job. OH, also, tools that I may not have.

I'm out today to buy a new jack and some jack stands.

Thanks for all the help people! You are an endless resource for tacoma info!
Old 03-17-2006, 10:33 AM

Also, someone once said something about having to cut off the original shocks. Anything I should know there?
Old 03-17-2006, 10:55 AM

You should not have to cut anything off. The rear is easier than the front. The only hard part about the rear is that when you go to remove the nut on the top of the shock the entire shock may spin. If that happens you have to grab the stem of the shock with some plyers.

Good luck, it will make more sense when you are under the truck.
Old 03-17-2006, 10:57 AM

not true at all! sometimes it is necessary to cut the rear shocks, as anyplace with salt use causes the nuts to rust on to the shock. MUCH easier to cut them right off.
Old 03-17-2006, 11:05 AM

Sorry, I have not lived anywhere that has snow for about 9 years. I forgot about the rust factor. I assume you are talking about cutting the top of the shock near the stem?
Old 03-17-2006, 11:50 AM