Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Relay / Switch Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2004, 08:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Relay / Switch Question

I'm no electrician, but I do see how a relay works thanks to the yotatech write up i just read. My question now is why is it wrong or bad to have higher voltage going through a switch? Are switches just not able to handle the voltage or something? In the past I always wired up my stuff with only switches.
Old 12-25-2004, 08:16 PM

I think that it's just that you really don't want to have a lot of amperage at the switch. The relay energizes the switch with a minimum of amps. Just cuts down on something going wrong with the switch. I think.
Old 12-25-2004, 08:37 PM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
It is the current, not the voltage that a relay helps with. A relay can switch 20-30 amps typically and only takes perhaps 0.10 amps to turn it's coil on, which in turn closes the load contacts. A typical switch is rated for 5-20 amps, so theoretically could handle that much load. A relay has the advantage of closing and opening the contacts very quickly, which reduces arcing and contact wear. A switch can be open or closed fast or slow, depending on how you flip it on or off.

Other advantages of a relay is that you can locate it near the load it will control. This minimizes the voltage drop of a long wiring run. Also, you only need to run a small gauge wire from it's coil to the switch inside the vehicle. A lot easier to run small wires than heavy wires. Also safer, too, since you keep the high power stuff outside the cabin. Below is a shot of my headlight relays. They are located about 12" from the headlight. I was able to eliminate 2.0 volts of drop from the stock headlight wiring (which uses a switch):