Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

(First Timer Question) Rear disc brake conversation Vs Tundra Big Brake upgrade?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2011, 11:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile (First Timer Question) Rear disc brake conversation Vs Tundra Big Brake upgrade?

Okay so this is my first time at this forum so be nice.

So I have a 95 Tacoma V6 4X4. The brakes suck (which I have found to be a common problem with this model). So right now I have really two options I'm aware of:

Option 1: The infamous Tundra Big brake conversion

Option 2: A rear disc brake conversation kit (side note: as I understand it, I would lose my parking brake if I go this route???)

My question is, which would be better stopping performance?
(I know someone will say "Do Both" but I don't have that kind of money.)

I come from a car background and this is my first truck I'm using as a project.

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-05-2011, 11:52 AM

Received 120 Likes on 59 Posts
Originally Posted by 95TacomaModder
Okay so this is my first time at this forum so be nice.

So I have a 95 Tacoma V6 4X4. The brakes suck (which I have found to be a common problem with this model). So right now I have really two options I'm aware of:

Option 1: The infamous Tundra Big brake conversion

Option 2: A rear disc brake conversation kit (side note: as I understand it, I would lose my parking brake if I go this route???)

My question is, which would be better stopping performance?
(I know someone will say "Do Both" but I don't have that kind of money.)

I come from a car background and this is my first truck I'm using as a project.

Thanks in advance.
Pros of Tundra brakes:
Better stopping power.
Bolt on.

Cons:
Will have to step up to 16" rims which means new wheels and tires if you're not already on 16's.
Some have reported a different feeling in the pedal which is a typical issue when adding bigger brakes with bigger pistons.

Pro's of rear discs: