Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

First Time Paint Job

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2004, 03:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Time Paint Job

First time paint job couple of basic questions:

1. What equipment will I need (I realize I'll need to build a frame and plastic)

2. Anyone whose done this before can you give me a basic step-by-step walk through?

3. What am I looking at cost wise?

4. Any issues I need to be aware of?

5. Is this something a novice home mechanic can handle?

6. Can I paint in a garage in the winter or should I wait till it warms up?

The vehilce is an 85 4Runner 2dr. I believe it's pearl and I'm probably going to stay pearl.
Old 11-14-2004, 05:27 PM
Contributing Member

Lightbulb I think I can help on this one.

I’ve painted a few cars in my day and may be able to lend a hand. I am not a professional but have got professional results without spending $2500 on a paint job! You will need 1 HVLP spray gun the best you can afford, the cheaper ones do just as good of a job but wont last as long, I got mine from HarborFreight.com for like $70! You will need an in line water filter, you want to make sure you are only spraying air, not a water mist, I got mine at the local auto body supply shop for under $30, so there your only in $100 and if you already have a good compressor your in good shape! Next you will need to buy QUALITY sand paper, body filler and tools don’t try to save $10 on the prep work it WILL show up trust me! Take a good look at your truck, what needs to be repaired if any thing. The last truck I painted was a 1989 Yota 2wd. The body was in great shape but the pain was a scratched up mess and was faded and all from never being waxed in its entire life! I started by taking one of my garage bays and taping it off. I bought heavy white plastic at Home Depot and stapled it to the rafters creating a ceiling and made a wall dividing off that bay of the garage "2 door 3 car garag