Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Best lift configuration for this truck & this application / need?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 11:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Best lift configuration for this truck & this application / need?

Hello folks,

This is my first time “building a wheeler” and although I am quite capable mechanically, I don’t know much about the options and configurations of the different lift options. I have a stock 1996 Tacoma V6 4x4 5 speed and a pretty specific Use for it. Just wondering if y’all might give me some input as to what you think my best lift configuration might be for my needs?

First of all, from what I have gleaned so far, the std. Fab tech, trail master etc. 4” IFS lift kits ARE NOT the way to go… They are expensive, invasive and just not that functional, is that true?

My primary purpose of the truck is as a hunting vehicle. It will need to take sometimes heavy loads of camping gear, and/or camper shell and/or a gear rack and even towing a quad trailer sometimes as well, so the suspension will have to be somewhat “beefy”. I don’t plan on doing any real serious rock crawling but some minor stuff for sure, just no Rubicon, gate keeper type trips etc. I basically want a truck that can and will scramble up some pretty nasty 4x4 roads & trails, but not Volkswagen sized boulders, get me through basic mud situations and creek crossings, be able to cruise along at a god clip on washboard and rutted up roads, smoothing them out some and handle some weight & towing, That’s about it. Asking too much?