Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

96 4runner 3.4 Overheating Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2012, 06:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96 4runner 3.4 Overheating Issue

Hi I am a newbie here. Love the rig other than this problem.... so sorry for the long post....

I live in Eastern Washington and it's been getting in the high teens and mid 20's in temperature. I noticed (from my stock gauge) that it was running underneath the 1/2 way mark (About an 1/8th" down where it normally runs on the halfway mark). The car took a long time to get to operating temp.The heater also wasn't getting warm. Only time it would get warm was when I let it sit at an idle or am going slow. I went to change the Thermostat and flush the radiator out. When I popped the thermostat out it was gutted....meaning it was just the gasket and the top of the thermostat casing (no thermostat mechanism). To me that explained the 4runner running on the cool side. I flushed the radiator out put the new thermostat in ("Jiggle" valve at 6 o' Clock). And filled it back up and burped the air out of the system (jack the front end up slightly just to be sure). Everything seemed to be going okay, the heater was hot and it was about normal. So I put the cap back on and took it for a test drive. It didn't take even 5 minutes for the temp gauge to start going up. (I had checked the thermostat before putting it in and it was all good). I couldn't really figure it out...Radiator is newer, not clogged, lines look fine, everything seemed to be circulating fine, no fluid was lost internally and no external leaks. I put the old "thermostat" in and it is working like it did before (still not getting entirely warm).