Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

3rd set of outer tie rod ends?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 11:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd set of outer tie rod ends?

Hey there,

i've replaced my inner tie rod ends 3x - this will be the 4th!

anyone else chew thru these???!?

first 2 sets were NOT OEM - big mistake....

3rd set are GENIUNE 'yota....thought they'd last....but....looking bad - still performing OK - but know they are need'n to be replaced....

they lasted about 1 year - just over....

also notice my sway bar bushings are bad...guess that's on the slate too!

-aaron
Old 10-19-2009, 12:14 PM

I'm no expert, and I'm sure a lot of much better opinions will soon answer your question.
I had the same experience in my 01 4runner. Not even 4 wheeling very hard and they were gone again! in less than 3 months!

I spoke to a front end mechanic who seems to know his stuff and he says there are components that you can switch, but once the damage is done, you have play in the system that either you take care of completely, or it will never stop destroying the new bits.

not very technical (my recollection of his monologue) but it sounds quite logical.
I believe there are bushings that have a lot to do with it, and they will go as far as affecting your steering rack !$$

that's what got me interested in going to old school simplicity of a solid front axle.
Old 10-19-2009, 12:18 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Makes sense to me! Replace everything at once, or keep replacing over and over again, in small increments.
Old 10-19-2009, 12:33 PM

yah, that's what i was thinking too -

my upper and lower BJ's are new...steering rack new (used, lower miles)

so, bushings and tie rod ends! Gotta climb under there and see if there is more!

-aaron
Old 10-19-2009, 02:13 PM