Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Rebuilding engine, what the heck are these???

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2008, 11:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rebuilding engine, what the heck are these???

Ok guys, I am a newbie when it comes to toyotas. What I am really new to is the 22r engine. I currently have one disassembled with new parts on the way. However, I have encountered a problem along the way. While pulling the crankshaft from the engine, there were two small metal parts which fell out, which I was simply not sure where they came from or where they are supposed to be put back:

here's a pic of part of my teardown:

Any ideas where these two pieces go?

-Nick
Old 09-25-2008, 11:13 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
They are thrust bearings ! I would recommend purchasing a FSM to continue the rebuild cause your gonna need torque specs and install notes for the heads ad the rest of the rebuild!
Old 09-25-2008, 11:14 PM

Weclome BTW

Good luck! After your done rebuilding the motor it should last well over another 200K
Old 09-25-2008, 11:21 PM

Also

Be sure to clean the piston ring groves and dont loose track of what connecting rods caps went to what location. Install the crank and be careful when installing the pistons and connecting rods. damage to the the new bearings and precision machined parts can happen but can easily be avoided by taking your time! (via connecting rod studs when installing the pistons can hit the precision surfaces) Dont let this happen!
Be sure to also lube them up well before installation!

A good FSM will worn you about such things and help you with the entire rebuild!
Old 09-26-2008, 01:55 PM

I saw a trick at work that might help you put the con rods in. Put a length of rubber hose over the con rod studs, then lower them into the bores.

A good thing to have on hard for engine dissambly is a set of numeric punches, and even a couple of arrow symbols.