Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

96 4Runner timing belt broke

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2012, 09:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96 4Runner timing belt broke

I am new to Toyota always having a Jeep before so the issues on this SUV all seem to symptom other things. I was having a lot of vibration coming from my undercarriage. I knew my CV axles needed to be changed since the boots had been blown. After they were changed and the 2" lift spacers were taken out i got new front struts only to still have the vibration. Turns out the "U" joints on the front drive shaft were starting to go. But on the way home driving at about 30mph the car died. The timing belt broke. I just put a new one on in late 99 and once I took this one off it is still very new. So now my concern is when I put the new belt on and check compression if the valves were not damaged what caused the belt to creep off and get caught. The pulleys are all tight and the water pump seems fine too. What else should I look for? I thinks the vibration might have cause it but other people say that is not possible.
Old 04-09-2012, 10:03 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The 3.4 engines are non interference motors which means that the valves do not occupy the same space as the pistons and will not be bent from the timing belt breaking.
Old 04-09-2012, 12:05 PM

Thank you James Woods!!!