Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

82 pick up Need Help OVERHEATING

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2015, 11:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 82 pick up Need Help OVERHEATING

I am new to trucks this is my first vehicle, a 82 Toyota pick up 22r engine was swapped out with an 85 22r engine.

So my issue is when I take my truck for a normal drive anywhere I only can drive for 15 mins in town and on highways. I have switched: water pump, thermostat, and changed fluid and still nothing. There is an electric fan. Also when the previous owner switched the engines, it appears he did not connect the water heater back up, I don't know if this could be the issue or something else. Oil does look clean doesn't appear to be a blow head.

I am really stuck with this overheating, the engine seems strong and I would love to fix this truck! Please Help!!!!!

Mahalo
Old 05-12-2015, 11:46 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

You could have air bubbles in the cooling system.

The radiator could just be blocked from old age.

The heater core not being hooked up should not make it over heat .

Bad thermostat out of the box.

Just what symptoms is the overheating causing ??

The sending unit ( Temperature gauge ) if not matched to the gauge might be giving a false reading. I don`t know if 82 and 85 are the same .
Old 05-12-2015, 11:59 PM

Unhappy hmm

When I got the truck there was no thermostat in it and i still had experiences with overheating. I believe the sensor is correct because when it goes into the red there is overflow and it boiled when I had normal water in the engine. The radiator seems really clean on the outside but inside there is some brown and a little build up. I am not sure if this guy hooked up the cooling system wrong, there is only the in hose and the out hose hooked up to the radiator.
Old 05-14-2015, 06:31 AM
osv

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts