86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Sagging rear suspension......pic!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2006, 07:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sagging rear suspension......pic!!

Once I get the interior straightend around, need to tackle this job. Winter will be over pretty soon (the 4runner never sees the salt!!........I get a lot of grief over this from the wife.....oh well), and need to get the truck ready to go for the spring, summer, and fall driving.

vmax84

Old 02-01-2006, 07:33 AM

Looking at the pic from this angle, the shocks look kinda wimpy!!

vmax84
Old 02-01-2006, 11:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I was going to say that putting new springs on a 4Runner is pretty easy, Im a novice with this vehicle, and it only took me 2-3 hours to do it, and that was with a run to an autoparts store to get a spring compresser that I never used. But then I noticed you have leaves, not coils (like mine) so Im not sure of the difficulty. Either way, I got AllProOffRoad rear coils w/ 1.5 inch lift, and I love 'em so far. Brought my rear end up 3.5 inches over the sag.
Old 02-01-2006, 11:57 AM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
I would say the job of replacing the spring pack isn't very hard at all. Might run into some rust problems with the pivot bolts through the leaves, but there are plenty of tips on how to handle that on this site or others. Personally, I find PB Blaster works great on rust, so spray that on advance of the work.

You can probably just by a new spring pack, and get any lift you want. Or maybe junkyard to add some leaves or experiment with a add-a-leaf, but your problem is really the springs have gone flat, and you need to get the curve back, so leaves with a better arc is really what you want.
Old 02-01-2006, 12:08 PM

This topic has excellent coverage on 4x4wire.

http://www.4x4wire.com/forums/showfl...4&fpart=1&vc=1
Old 02-01-2006, 03:40 PM