86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

General Performance Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2007, 07:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
General Performance Question

I'm no mechanic, but for some reason it seems to me that the following question has merit: if I install a cold air intake and a highflow exhaust, including a high-flow cat, but not headers, then I will seriously lean-out my mixture and create more performance problems than I solve - right? I am trying improve throttle response and milk out additional road mileage from my '93 4Runner 3.0 w/MT, but I am concerned that running a bunch of air through an engine that is probably already too lean with emissions will do much of anything postitive. Any thoughts/ideas/facts will be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 05-16-2007, 07:37 PM
Contributing Member

Your ECU should compensate for the increased airflow. Start with intake and exhaust; a high-flow cat will only be beneficial if your stock cat is clogged. You can add the cat later anyway.
Old 05-16-2007, 07:43 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
thats correct the ecu should take care of it unless you dump a ton of air into it. as it gets leaner the 02 sensor will read that, and more fuel will be dumped into the engine
Old 05-17-2007, 06:10 AM

Cool! I was hoping that the ECU would function this way, but I didn't know. What little I do know applies to bikes, and I know it is typically best to re-map an ECU if you make big changes in airflow. As for the CAT, my thought is that if I am going to a 2.5" exhaust, that the more restrictive OEM CAT would tend to defeat the purpose of the free flowing cat-back. Am I just way off? Thanks, again.
Old 05-17-2007, 06:18 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts