86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

94 22re Strange Engine Noise (video!)

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2015, 11:52 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by KMcMahon
Hey, Im new to the 22re and was just wondering if you think this is the same sound as your video. Previous owner said the timing chain was replaced but you can't trust anyone lol

Hey Kyle, I'll go ahead and say that that's not the same noise I have. But it's an easy check. Just a few things to get out of the way and the valve cover comes off.

To my ears (listening to a video on YouTube with my phone, mind you) it almost sounds like detonation (knocking, pinging). I don't have experience with that sound though, but it does sound like a diesel. I could be way off though. Maybe others will chime in.
Old 10-04-2015, 04:41 PM

Ended up going with the 4 piece front end kit from Engnbldr.com. In emailing back and forth the guy seems like a straight shooter with good quality parts. Can't beat that.
Old 10-12-2015, 09:05 AM

Originally Posted by Davebarbier
Ended up going with the 4 piece front end kit from Engnbldr.com. In emailing back and forth the guy seems like a straight shooter with good quality parts. Can't beat that.
Just got the whole kit. Really good quality stuff it seems. Quick shipping and I like that there's a paper included with some other assembly info which says to call or email if I have questions. People who stand by their products is an important thing and something I really look for.

Will be doing this job this coming weekend. Will update with more info as it goes along.
Old 10-15-2015, 06:57 AM