Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

4 runner 3.0 fuel injector replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2008, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4 runner 3.0 fuel injector replacement

Hi,
I'm a 4runner newbie, having just bought a '89 4runner with the 6 cylinder engine. It has a gas leak somewhere- it smells pretty strong when you start it and while its running, and i can see some dripping. The previous owner said that her mechanic diagnosed it as the "starting" fuel injector, and that she's driven it this way for several months. To start it, she would just turn the key for 10 seconds w/o hitting the clutch to activate the fuel pump and pressurize it, as it seems to lose its pressure while sitting, and then push in the clutch to start it. This seems to work well, but seems dangerous.

Any thoughts on what the starting injector is- is that a regular fuel injector, or another one?
I've looked for threads on replacing this but haven't found much. Are there any on here, and is this a pretty tough job? I'm not a master mechanic, but I've done a fair amount of backyard tinkering. I've thought about getting the Autozone AllData DIY subscription for this to help me through it, unless someone here is willing to be "hired" to talk me through it!
Thanks!
Old 03-17-2008, 06:50 PM

My guess is that it is the cold start injector.

DSCF0743a.jpg?t=1205808542

The cold start injector is a 7th injector only for used for starting. It is located just up and to the left of my arrow (the arrow was for the EGR removal thread). Never messed with the injector, but that is what it is and where it is.
Old 03-17-2008, 06:53 PM

probably talking about the cold start injector it is in the intake plenum on the opposite side from the throttle body on the 3.0 test it per the service manual.