86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22re, head gasket, timing cover job

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 06:57 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
22re, head gasket, timing cover job

Hi all. Im new to this forum. Im a newb with this these trucks, Ive owned my 93 22re 4x4 pickup 5 months so far. I love it. She's got 220,000 miles on the clock, and runs well. I've had an oil leak coming from under the distributor since I got it, but this leak has recently gotten real bad. Its to the point now where fixing it is mandatory. The previous owner replaced the timing chain components, and through research Im lead to believe that an improper timing cover installation has caused the leak (head gasket damage). The pics dont do the leak justice. Oil is disapearing out of the engine, and leaves drips wherever the truck is parked.

From Toyota Ive ordered:
-head gasket
-timing cover gaskets
-water pump gasket

Im hoping properly installing these will eliminate the leak. Does anyone know of any good references to do this job right? I will be attempting to get it done in 1.5 days. Any advice would be appreciated.

Old 07-11-2012, 07:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi, if it is oil I very highly dought that it is the head gasket. I had an external head gasket leak and coolant would leak once pressure built up in the system.

Under the distributor. If you remove the distributor there should be an o ring. This could be pinched from an inpropper install.

I am going to look at my 1995 and see what else could be leaking.

Also if it is leaking that bad you should be able to watch it leak. I would degrease it with simple grean type cleaner. Then get an extendable little mirror. They sell them at autozone cheap. Let it run and see where exactly it is coming from.

If you are going to pull the distributor mark it with a punch or chisle first.