84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

85 22r, won't start but runs fine?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 06:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
85 22r, won't start but runs fine?

Hello!

I recently purchased a 1985 22r carb. Cali emissions truck that has 200k+ miles on it. Let me begin by saying I'm a little new to the wild world of carbs, so this may be a generic issue.

After looking through the FSM and many board posts, I was able to find the correct diagram and carb exploded views. I replaced some of the vacuum hoses, new fuel filter, and rebuilt the carb.

Prior to doing all this, the truck would barely start and barely run, only with some coaxing and fast accelerator pressing/depressing. Now, however, I have an entirely new issue. I am unable to get the truck to start on it's own, and it will only start when I dump some gas into the carb. When I do this, the truck blubbers and chugs for about 5 seconds, then smooths out enough that I was able to adjust the idle so it runs great (once started, of course). I can drive it around all day like this. If I turn off the truck, it will not start back up no matter how long it sits. I have to dump some gas into the carb and start the fun all over again.

Just for a little background on my intentions, I'm planning on taking the motor/tranny out and sticking into a '59 Riley. I'd like to get it starting and running as well as a 200k+ mile 22r can run prior to doing the dry fitting into the Riley. I'd rather keep the 22r as stock as possible, unless of course there is a valid reason for swapping out or removing parts.

Any suggestions on my starting problem would be very welcome. Thanks!!
Old 05-09-2010, 06:29 PM

Yep, there's gas in the bowl window, 1/2 full. Would the float being stuck allow it to run normally after initial start?
Old 05-10-2010, 12:32 PM

you have to pump the gas a couple times before you turn it over youll have to do this with any carb vehicle