Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

82 22R Will Not Start HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2007, 08:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
82 22R Will Not Start HELP!!!

I am a pretty good mechanic but I'm stumped on this. My wife was driving the truck on the highway and she heard a klunk from the engine, like that helps me any, but then the car died right on the highway. So I towed it home so I could troubleshoot the problem. I have done a compression test and the psi is: number 1: 145psi number 2: 145psi number 3: 149psi number 4: 149:. So thats good. then I took the valve cover off and checked the valves, springs, and keepers. I checked my timing and valve clearances and the are both perfect. I also made sure I was getting spark. I just changed the spark plugs and wires, new fuel pump, fuel filter, cap and rotor. Made sure the timing chain was still on which is and is tight. So my last thought was the carb because when you give it gas it shoots out fire from the top and when you don't give it fuel it shoot raw gas out. So I had the carb rebuilt and tuned for Colorado altitude and all I had to do was bolt it back on the engine. Tried to start and still shoots flame and raw gas, just cranks and cranks will not fire. What now please help me
Old 09-20-2007, 06:18 AM