Site Feedback Please use this forum to provide feedback, suggestions on the site

Reported attack page? Attn: TECH GUYS WORKING TO FIX ASAP

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 10:43 AM
  #1  
Yamiryder's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 319
Likes: 0
From: Punxsy, PA
Exclamation Reported attack page? Attn: TECH GUYS WORKING TO FIX ASAP

I'm on my Mac using Firefox, and when viewing a build thread, when i clicked the next page of the thread a warning popped up that said yotatech was a reported attack page, stating that it may try to take personal information. I had to override it to get back on the site. What's the issue? Security issue or what? Just thought i would bring it up that this happened to me.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 11:03 AM
  #2  
Black_1985_SR5's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 866
Likes: 3
From: Fed-La, Washington
just happened to me also wtf?
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 11:12 AM
  #3  
dropzone's Avatar
Fossilized
iTrader: (6)
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,771
Likes: 456
From: PNW
tech guys are working on it.

if you can post a link to the thread you were looking at.
It will help them to get it narrowed down.
it usually is a result of stuff embedded in a photo.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 11:25 AM
  #4  
Black_1985_SR5's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 866
Likes: 3
From: Fed-La, Washington
I just hit the new posts link and it happened to me
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 11:25 AM
  #5  
Robert m's Avatar
Registered User
20 Year Member
Liked
Loved
Community Favorite
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,979
Likes: 143
From: Apple Valley, CA
it wasn't a thread, it was the main forum page for me.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 12:15 PM
  #6  
98SR54RUNNER's Avatar
Contributing Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 411
Likes: 0
From: Charleston, SC
Same thing happening to me.

It's coming up when I go to any YT forum or a specific post. Seems like it's a general thing and not specific to posting images.

Found this thread and it looks like this isn't the first time:

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f92/...82/index4.html

Glad to hear the techs are on it, you guys are speedy!

Last edited by 98SR54RUNNER; Mar 19, 2013 at 12:17 PM.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 12:21 PM
  #7  
EFI85's Avatar
Registered User
10 Year Member
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 291
Likes: 5
From: Bay Area/ Co Co County
MODS Yota tech virus Trojan

My pc keeps warning me of a virus on the site . I'm on my iPad but I'm afraid to use my PC .. Just an FYI
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 12:24 PM
  #8  
Corey's Avatar
Co-Founder/Administrator
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 32,242
Likes: 22
From: Auburn, Washington
I got it this morning at home with XP Pro and Firefox.
More than likely it is an external Google Sense ad that is corrupted.
Tech will diagnose it and kill it.

I can not do it at work here, but tech sent this earlier if someone from here wants to try this and post the info back to this thread.
When you get the warning, can you please click on the 'view google diagnostics' of this page, and once there, Google will identify the URL the malware is hosted on. Then we can search for that URL in the thread in question. Once we've got that, we can get rid of it very quickly
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 12:37 PM
  #9  
redbayredneck's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 474
Likes: 0
From: Red Bay, NW Forida
If you click on any yotatech link on google, this comes up:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...HolLSYhnPkMRbw
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 01:04 PM
  #10  
KBar's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
From: Gulfport, MS
Exclamation

Originally Posted by Corey
I got it this morning at home with XP Pro and Firefox.
More than likely it is an external Google Sense ad that is corrupted.
Tech will diagnose it and kill it.

I can not do it at work here, but tech sent this earlier if someone from here wants to try this and post the info back to this thread.
heres the urls
http://safebrowsing.clients.google.c...omium&hl=en-US
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 02:39 PM
  #11  
Black_1985_SR5's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 866
Likes: 3
From: Fed-La, Washington
I am the virus muhahaha jk there is another thread about this
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 02:40 PM
  #12  
Roark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,051
Likes: 0
From: Memphis, TN
I've gotten the same Trojan warning the last few days on my PC. And for what it's worth, my iphone Yotatech app has been crashing consistently lately, as well.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 02:47 PM
  #13  
NickMiller's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 566
Likes: 1
From: Bellingham, WA
Every page on yotatech shows this for me... Google Chrome on Win7x64

Name:  fds2_zps52f91327.png
Views: 116
Size:  110.2 KB
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 03:46 PM
  #14  
Philbert's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,159
Likes: 8
From: Pleasanton, CA - SF Bay Area
Originally Posted by NickMiller
Every page on yotatech shows this for me... Google Chrome on Win7x64

Same for me the past couple days, and I have the same software/browser as you.

mybooboolapa.org is the website it told me was in question.

So, sounds like we're fine but that some folks posted links from malicious sites that were hosted on YT.com and as long as we don't click on bad stuff at YT.com we're OK?
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 03:56 PM
  #15  
NickMiller's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 566
Likes: 1
From: Bellingham, WA
Originally Posted by Philbert
Same for me the past couple days, and I have the same software/browser as you.

mybooboolapa.org is the website it told me was in question.

So, sounds like we're fine but that some folks posted links from malicious sites that were hosted on YT.com and as long as we don't click on bad stuff at YT.com we're OK?
You should be fine unless you click on a malicious link... It's just an annoyance when I go to the User CP and every time I open a new subscribed thread in a new tab I have to click "show advanced options>proceed at your own risk"
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 04:05 PM
  #16  
dropzone's Avatar
Fossilized
iTrader: (6)
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,771
Likes: 456
From: PNW
Guys this is the sort of info we need to kick these hackers in the balls.
Specific thread names help the most.

We all appreciate everyone's patience while the tech guys go to war
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 04:08 PM
  #17  
dropzone's Avatar
Fossilized
iTrader: (6)
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,771
Likes: 456
From: PNW
We are aware, tech guys working on it.

Gonna merge this thread with the one in the site feedback section.
Reply
Old Mar 19, 2013 | 08:03 PM
  #18  
JBurt's Avatar
Registered User
15 Year Member
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 953
Likes: 21
From: Imperial County CA
in addition to mybooboolapa.org I'm also getting poboytech.net
Reply
Old Mar 20, 2013 | 01:51 AM
  #19  
Corey's Avatar
Co-Founder/Administrator
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 32,242
Likes: 22
From: Auburn, Washington
At home this morning I got the message again for the main URL, so I did not enter.
Funny, I am at Boeing now and with Windows 7 and Firefox, no warnings.

This has happened before and it will be cleared up.
More than likely it is an ad.
Reply
Old Mar 20, 2013 | 06:18 AM
  #20  
Yamiryder's Avatar
Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 319
Likes: 0
From: Punxsy, PA
this link just did it to me this morning http://www.yotatech.com/f116/solid-b...ng-kit-114974/
edit: only happened when i clicked on the link from google...
Reply



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:08 PM.