Pre 84 Trucks (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Big Little Bears 1983 Toy BRRT Build-Up Thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2015, 09:25 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Big Little Bears 1983 Toy BRRT Build-Up Thread

The Big Red Rolling Turd

Ok I Finally Decided to Jump In after enjoying months of Browsing the Builds On this site. I may be a Newbie here But not to the Toyota world. My first Toyota, was the Black 81 Toyota 4WD Pictured under it's Call Sign "Big Little Bear". I got her back in 1984 and sunk 20k into her before regrettably selling at just over 5k. After her it was an 89 4Runner, 91 4WD toyota truck, 99 4runner sport, 2001 4WD Tacoma, and Now I'm back to My beginning with this Ebay Find Which For now will Name The Big Red Rolling Turd. This Truck was In Arizona and was in pretty good shape for being 32 years old and abused and molested by many previous owners. The Guy I bought her from , Dave, was just like the rest of us here. He owned one back in the 80s as well and had plans to restore her and started with a new 7 inch full spring Lift, 3 inch body lift, Shackles, Stainless Lines, 35 inch Good Year Kevlars, Shocks, dual stabilizers, drop drag link, and a custom made drive line. Needless to say, A very good start for me since I would have lifted the truck if it wasn't already and gone with everything he chose. I got the truck for a little over 5k just as it sits and I figure all the New items put on by Dave would have cost me around 2800.. So a good deal on the truck.

I divide my time between Arizona and Maryland. Arizona being my Home state and Maryland being my wife's State. Since I'm spending the Summer here I decided to Bring the truck from AZ and Start the restoration in MD. My reservations about driving that distance were in the back of my mind, considering the age of the truck showing 180k and probably more. I knew that 22R was tough as nails and with This generation truck it wasn't my first Rodeo.