GPS & Communication Discussions here pertain to the use and troubleshooting of GPS, CB radio, and amateur radio

CB noob here, have questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2008, 09:48 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
CB noob here, have questions

I'm looking at getting a CB set up going in my 4Runner since some groups require it & it's handy for a few other things as well, like road conditions, weather etc.

I've pretty much made up my mind on the Uniden PRO538W because it has the NOAA weather channels + the PA feature (which may or may not come in handy on trails) & it's slate gray & compact so it should blend well enough with my interior. I'm also looking at Wilson antennas because I hear they are a step above firestik antennas. I've been checking out the "little wil" since a roof top mount will give the best transmission & reception (from what I've read) & all the "pro's" say don't skimp on the antenna!

Anyone have an opinion about the Uniden or Wilson antenna? Opinions on mounting?

I'm here to tell you I don't understand the differences in "top loaded/center loaded/base loaded" or "counterpoise" etc. I've read plenty on the subject but I still don't get it.

All I know is I want the best reception & transmission I can get, I definitely want the weather band to come in well & I don't want the antenna ripped off the vehicle wherever it gets mounted.

Any help for a CB ninny?
Old 04-02-2008, 05:20 AM

I suppose I need to check at a more radio oriented site. All I really need is help deciding on what antenna is best & where to put it for best transmission & reception since I'm sold on Uniden for the price vs. features & most mobile units are 4 watt & I don't intend to run a linear amp ever.

I need "expert" advice on the antenna type & location because of the things I mentioned above; lol but I guess the few who have looked at this post don't understand it any better than I do.

Old 04-02-2008, 06:05 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts