underlined acronyms - YotaTech Forums

Notices
Site Feedback Please use this forum to provide feedback, suggestions on the site

underlined acronyms

Old 03-05-2012, 07:29 AM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
irab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: S. MD
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
underlined acronyms

just a thought, but why don't we have more? i see "mph" works (mouse-over text: miles per hour), but i think we could use more.

sas, ifs, dd, r&p, ds, lt, ff, mpg, and i'm sure there's more on the yotatech glossary.

just something that crossed my mind...
irab88 is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 12:32 PM
  #2  
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
irab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: S. MD
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
irab88 is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 03:07 PM
  #3  
Registered User
 
MudHippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Why don't we have more? I didn't know we had any. I've never seen what you're talking about.

But they show up everywhere when I'm logged out. Just not when I'm logged in. THANK GOD!!!

Because those are all just links to a bunch of BS advertisements. Like this one...


Like that has anything to do with miles per gallon?

Which web browser do you use BTW? And/or how do you have it setup to do that I wonder? And how does that even work exactly? Who decides what the letters comprising the acronym stand for in words? I'm mean WTF? The letters could mean anything. Hence why I'm able to use that particular one here and there.

But, what we're really talking about here are actually abbreviations, and/or initialisms, for the most part. Since to be an acronym, technically speaking, the letters of an abbreviation or initialism need to be in the form a speakable word on their own. Such as NASA(National Aeronautics & Space Administration), OSHA(Occupational Safety & Health Administration), UNICEF(United Nations Children's Fund), or KISS(Keep It Simple Stupid). For instance, when refering to NASA, we don't say "en∙ay∙es∙ay", we say "na∙suh". Get it?


Last edited by MudHippy; 03-07-2012 at 03:10 PM.
MudHippy is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 03:12 PM
  #4  
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
irab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: S. MD
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
put your cursor over "mph" (<-- right there)... you should see "miles per hour" appear below your cursor.

it would be nice if you could put your mouse over something like "sas" and see "solid axle swap"


edit: picky-picky

Last edited by irab88; 03-07-2012 at 03:14 PM.
irab88 is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 03:23 PM
  #5  
Registered User
 
MudHippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
OH! Now I see it!

I just had to hover the cursor there for a couple seconds. Then it showed up.

But wait a second...it's not underlined. It's in quotations. And when it's not in quotations, it doesn't work like that, miles per gallon won't show up. So...what the heck is the deal with this...whatever it is? Doesn't seem to have anything to do with underlines or acronyms(technically speaking). I really don't get it now...

EDIT: Ok, I'll give you the underlined part...I guess. The "acronym" isn't, but the words it stands for do(or rather than underlining the "acronym", one could say they underlie it, if the definition of the term underlie can be stretched that far...sure why not?).

Last edited by MudHippy; 03-07-2012 at 03:35 PM.
MudHippy is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 03:41 PM
  #6  
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
irab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: S. MD
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
my bad. my version of firefox at work shows a small, dotted underline. but it should work with any combination of punctuation

:mph:
mph
"mph"
(mph)
mph.
irab88 is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:14 PM
  #7  
Registered User
 
MudHippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
You didn't try underlining mph. Which makes no difference...as it turns out. Because you're right.

I was trying mpg, not mph.

Great, now I'm gonna be checking all of them just to see. Whether I already know what they mean or not. This should be fun...gonna have to start making a list then too, I suppose. What do we have so far?

1. mph = miles per hour

Last edited by MudHippy; 03-07-2012 at 05:15 PM.
MudHippy is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:19 PM
  #8  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,094
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
We will see what we can do...
dropzone is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:40 PM
  #9  
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
irab88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: S. MD
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
thank you!

Last edited by irab88; 03-07-2012 at 05:41 PM.
irab88 is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 10:18 PM
  #10  
Registered User
 
ksti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA, Until TSHTF!
Posts: 1,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
How come nothing happens when I hover over WTF?
ksti is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dakotawho
General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related)
4
03-02-2013 11:15 PM
Elvota
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
11
05-23-2007 08:37 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: underlined acronyms


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: