California NorCal California NorCal Chapter

overheating 22r 84 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2018, 04:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
overheating 22r 84 4runner

Looking for answers for a long time. Truck runs great normal driving, but gauge reads heat middle of gauge. When I drive hills heat will rise to overheating and peg gauge. I let off power and it will cool back to middle. I have replaced "everything" almost, so it will be easier to say what I haven't replaced.
Still have origional intake manifold and carb and related attachments. Have replaced engine with stage 2 from 22re performance, all coolant hoses, distributor, starter, alternator, and have now put in my 4th new radiator. 2 were all steal and blew seams, 1 plastic res type, and now a 3 row aluminum.
The truck is totally driveable , it just always runs to hot and will overheat underload on hills. Truck runs great and passes cal smog with flying colors. I'm a decent mechanic and know all the basics tuning. Timing is perfect and distrib is new.
Even on start up the radiator will start seeping coolant from upper radiator hose(never lower one or any other) even as the radiator is still cool. The 2 new steal radiators that failed blew soldered seems just off the side of upper radiator hose area.
I know it sounds odd, but the only things haven't been replaced are the steal tube between the 2 lower rubber hoses, intake manifold and all sensing components, carb and air cleaner assembly, and gauge in my dashboard.
To finish, under my hood 98% of everything has been replaced and the problem continues. Before and after replacing everything the problem hasn't changed.
When I first bought truck radiator had a leak and I had to drive it a 100 miles home. Seller said top off with water and don't tighten rad cap and it would make it. He was right and the gauge stayed below 1/3 although the heater would not even keep the truck warm.