Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

looking for a starting point

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2013, 01:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
looking for a starting point

This is my first post on the forum so please forgive me if I am in the wrong thread.

Ok so let me start by saying this is my second yota. first one was an 1988 22re with almost no rust. i had it two month and had to sell it because of our new baby. Three years later and i finally found one at the same time i had some money and bought another one.

That being said i have a 87 extra cab 4x4. I have been a diesel mechanic for 8 years, so i do have a some knowledge about repair work. the truck is lift some not sure how much, but i cannot find any lifting kits anywhere, so i believe the torsion bars have been cranked to the max, and possibly an add a leaf kit in the rear. well the the guy i bought it from told me in two years he has replaced CVs like three times, shocks are history, the steering components are rubbing the frame a little which inturn is wearing them out left and right as well. what research i have done says this is caused most offtenly from torsion lifts.

I would like to take it back to stock ride hieght then re lift it the right way so the CVs are at correct angle steering components stay off the frame, so on and so forth.

how do i take the torsion lift out, and how low do i need to go to reach factory hieght so I can re lift the right way.

my other big conceren is i would like to run 33/12.50/15 tires so how high do i need to lift it, and i have read that I should re gear it as well with the over size tire so what gear should i go with and where is a good place to find them.