Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

3rd gen 4runner sr5 1997 3.4l

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2014, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd gen 4runner sr5 1997 3.4l

Hey there was just lookin to get good info from the experts, I have a 1997 4runner sr5 v6 im lookin to lift it 2 inches without sacrificing ride quality yet capable of handling some weekend trail, mud, snow terrains any thoughts bout whats the best to do
Old 11-14-2014, 04:17 PM
Contributing Member

Received 463 Likes on 309 Posts
I'm no expert but imo
A) You don't mention where you'd be doing this weekend stuff- that would make a difference in the answer.
and
B) Have you wheeled it stock and found it lacking or back to A) Where would you be wheeling it that you know you need the couple o' inches?
and
C) I am very fond of my Sonoran Steel 1.2 lift. It doesn't drive the same as stock, but has nice road manners. Ride quality would also be affected by tires. Back to A) what terrain would you be wheeling it on? A/Ts are generally nicer than M/Ts on road (I said generally) and generally have better on road traction than M/Ts.
Old 11-14-2014, 04:23 PM

Well that was a bit general than precise, 2 inches are needed for bigger tires, 285/75/16 goin for dick cepek's fun country 2, as for the terrain its gona be mud trails, a bit of rock crawling but mostly onroad as I said its a part time hobby twice a month or so, was aiming for suspension lift to maintain ride quality rather than body lift or spacers so need heads up on suspension swap
Old 11-14-2014, 04:44 PM
Contributing Member

Received 463 Likes on 309 Posts