Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2nd gen basic off roading list

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2016, 07:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2nd gen basic off roading list

Ok guys I hope I'm in the right forum for this. I'm new to all this as i am more of a sports car guys. i was just hoping you guys could direct me in the right way of making my 1991 4runner 4 cylinder 5spd manual into a "cheap crawler", I don't want to go all out with a engine build or anything to extreme just bolt on stuff if possible.right now its completely stock and i mean completely stock, where should i start?
Thanks
Old 09-26-2016, 09:19 AM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Caution cheap and truck parts for Offroad capability are not usually found in same sentence.

cheapest and most important - get out and wheel, learn your rig's capabilities and how to select lines. I've pulled rubicons out cause drive had no idea how to drive his rig. Research....

Marlin crawler crawl box - cost more but relies on cut of gears to stay engaged. Cheaper ones rely on heavier detent ball spring so known to pop out. Will require front and rear drive shaft mods though so price adds up. Just had rear shaft lengthened for $150. If short wheelbase will need to rotate pinion and use double cardigan style drive shaft in rear. Easy enough if you can weld and have an angle finder and a brain that operates over toaster level.

lockers/gears - caution buying used I've been hit before. You'll hear all kinds of scary stories about lunchbox lockers. I've ran them for years without issue front and rear including driving cross country and curvy mountain roads with a rear one without issue. You can weld rear dif or spool it, but eats tires so will cost more in long run over a lunchbox locker. If weld breaks will kill gears.