Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Shock, struts, sway bars and seats.... Can this thing be anymore uncomfortable?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2014, 12:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shock, struts, sway bars and seats.... Can this thing be anymore uncomfortable?

Hello YotaTech.... Newbie here...

So my wife and I just bought a 2001 4Runner SR5 2WD and didn't realize just how uncomfortable the seats would be and how bumpy/jerky and tipsy feeling the suspension would be. It's almost as if they wanted to build an SUV that "felt" like a car, with a higher stance? I'm not sure... Just need some serious advice.

What are some good aftermarket seats for this rig that will be comfortable for more than an hour on the road? New ones from Toyota are about $350ish so i'd like to stay under that...

What would you folks suggest for a firm, yet absorbing, non-rolling feeling suspension setup? The use would be mainly around town driving, some mild off-road (eg.. Up to the mtn for snowboarding, off the beaten path for camping) No serious off-roading though....

I've read alot about the Bilstein shock, '99 coils, anti-sway bar setups, but that seems to bring about alot of negative response as well as positive. Has anyone put together a setup like i'm looking for?

I realize we bought a somewhat "rough" style of SUV, but we just want to go most places and not feel like our butts are agonizingly sore, the rig doesn't feel like it's going to flip over at 60 mph around an average curve in the road or our heads aren't going to snap off from be bobbled around so harshly over pot holes, speed bumps or simply navigating a curb....

Any help would be greatly appreciated.....
Old 09-15-2014, 01:13 PM
Contributing Member

Received 463 Likes on 309 Posts