Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 06:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New.

http://www.permatex.com/products/Aut...sket_maker.htm
Old 09-06-2012, 03:18 PM

hey, I can start a new thread if I'm hijacking this one

anyways, I just did the drivers side rear seal and bearing.
I've never done the bearing before, and after gathering all the parts I took it into a guy to get it all pressed in/out.
Well, I got it back, and the driveshaft itself is pretty gouged up. I guess he had some difficulty with it, I dont know, but it isnt just scraped a little bit

anyways, I get it all back together, and it looks like it is leaking again. Now, I need to drive it more to make 100% certain, but I think it is...

Now, I did the passenger side seal only a couple of years ago, and got it on the first try and it has held fine.

So my worry is that it is leaking under the abs rotor thing...like what you guys talked about using RTV on a few posts up.

Thoughts?
Should I just pull it apart again and redo the seal?
Old 09-06-2012, 03:33 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This is what I had tried before reversing the retainer and it leaked.

I think you should pull it apart and make sure the seal is contacting the retainer like the picture above in post #19

Last edited by DRCOFFEE; 09-15-2012 at 01:30 PM.
Old 02-25-2013, 05:14 PM

I am keeping a running log of results for this repair in the first post. So far I am leak free nearly 7000 miles later.

To help some people better visualize the problem I have posted a cut-away view of the new OEM seal.

If you follow the FSM as they describe the "correct" placement, your sealing lip will be lucky to contact the non-polished bevel of the retainer as seen in this picture. Notice where the outer lip of the seal is positioned. That lip will leave a ring on the retainer leading you to believe your seal is in the center when in fact its not sealing at all.