Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

P0330 Everyone's Favorite Code

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2017, 04:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
P0330 Everyone's Favorite Code

alright everyone I'm quite new to the sie, as by my post count.. I've been having an issue with the infamous P0330 (Knock Sensor 1 Bank 2 Circuit Malfunction)

things I've already tried to no avail:

replace knock sensor wiring harness: it was definitely trashed, but it did not fix the problem.
test both knock sensors: both knock sensors registered the same voltage when tested.

I've read up on almost everything posted, on every website possible, and I can not find a solution...

it is having timing problems, the usual power loss, "coughing" or "sputtering" if you will, but here's the part that's tripping me out...

when I took everything apart to diagnose the knock sensors and the wiring harness, the problem seemed to fix itself. that is, until two days later while driving down the freeway, the truck seemed to start slowly falling back into it's same sputter-y rhythm.

it's a dog at all RPM, but particularly between 2K and 3K RPM. and likes to really cut out like it's losing a cylinder around 3K RPM, especially under heavier load (like going 65 on the freeway and trying to push on the accelerator to change lanes
everything I have read makes diagnosing this problem seem like a witch-hunt.
why is it only bank 2?
why is this the only code showing up?
why don't I get a catalytic converter code even though mine has been removed, but this code keeps rearing it's ugly head?

possible solutions I've come across:
correct a fuel system too lean scenario -- the vehicle being too lean constantly could trigger this code.
I feel like this is the way to start, because it is only one bank, and it seemed to have the problem BEFORE the code triggers (using a cheap scanner to clear the fault code from the local parts store)