Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Operation: Olive Drab PATYWGN

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2012, 09:50 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Operation: Olive Drab PATYWGN

So the PATYWGN is starting to show it's age and I've always said that when rust started to creep in I'd either rattle can it black or army green. Now that I am a body tech at a body shop, I've decided to do it right and freshen the beast up while putting a new spin on her styling. Here is what she looked like up until a couple weeks ago:

Not bad, I know. But to fix the problem areas right I'd have to blend the paint into the quarters and roof and the expense of a pearl color plus clear coat would be very high. So, I decided to buy some two part single stage olive drab paint from TM9 Ordnance that is used on military vehicle restorations. I love the color, sprays nice, and coverage is fantastic.

Here are some in progress pics so far, I've only got two doors painted but next week I'll get everything else sprayed and then on to re-assembly. Enjoy some gutted out 3rd gen goodness:

I've made some improvements along the way too that I'll share in the updated pictures posts. This is phase 1 of the project, phase 2 is building new front and rear bumpers, and phase 3 is new wheels and tires. After that I think I'll leave her alone for awhile and just enjoy driving her every day.

STAY TUNED...
Old 08-04-2012, 10:36 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
cool watching this one
Old 08-04-2012, 11:06 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Let's see some color!
Old 08-04-2012, 12:18 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Sorry, I read the title as PANTYWGN.....as in panty wagon...might be better that way :shrug:
Old 08-05-2012, 05:38 AM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Looks like you left it parked in a bad neighborhood and they forgot the tires and rims.

:wabbit2:
Old 08-05-2012, 08:18 AM