Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

NO SPARK! Hypotheis: BAD IGNITOR!

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2018, 07:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NO SPARK! Hypotheis: BAD IGNITOR!

1991 Toyota Pickup with X-Cab - 22 RE - I-4 - 2.4L - Automatic Transmission - 2WD - 204K miles.

It's a Columbia, Missouri, Grocery Runner!

Date of Manufacture: NOVEMBER 1990 in Tokyo.
Ignitor: Toyota OEM Part # 89620-35280.

I am a Yota-Shade-Tree-Member who has been working on vehicles since 1976. So, I'm not a professional mechanic, but I'm not a total idiot, either.

My 1991-2WD-22RE-2.4L-X-Cab Pickup Truck suddenly died while running. I was able to pull into a parking space. The Lil-Yota-Truk would turn over the engine, but it would not start. It was almost dark, so I got out and hitch-hiked home.

The next morning, my two mechanical buddies and I went to tow it back to my farm. We checked for spark and there was none! We successfully towed it home.

We all hypothesize that it was a BAD IGNITOR! I am going to check the fuses first. And, I am going to follow the Collective Forum's Advice before I buy any parts.

My QUESTIONS:

(1) Since a new ignitor is expensive and hard to find, should I trust a used one from a junkyard?

(2) Should I replace the coil and ignitor as one unit? Other mechanics recommend this because if the coil is bad, too, it will ruin my newly replaced ignitor? Any thoughts on that?

(3) I'm going to replace my distributor cap and rotor first. It's unlikely that it will ... but ... Do you all think that will bring back my spark?

(4) All of my research on <google>, <yotatech.com>, and <youtube>, show the same conclusion: BAD IGNITOR!

(5) What are some steps I should take before replacing this expensive part?

(6) What are some "Toyota-Parts-Websites" that <yotatech> recommends? I have: (1) <ebay.com>; (2) <1stToyotaParts.com>; and (3) <toyotapartsdude.com>.