Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

newbie with a problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2002, 04:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
newbie with a problem

Hi everyone
Yes I'm a newbie, no I aint got a thick wallet (for now), No pic's at the moment (4Runner is in the body shop aka. Fred's garage) and I'll probably ask more questions than thump my chest, But I Love my 4Runner and do 90% of the work on it myself.
Got a problem, and I need a little insight. My rig is a 1990 2dr. SR5 with a 22RE that I bought used, and it's got an erratic idle. After warming up it will sometimes rev up from 750-1500rpm and stay there, other times it'll cycle from 750-1500rpm over and over, and yet other times the idle will drop from 750 to 350rpm and stay there. I've been told that it's probably a gummed up throttlebody (I'll be checking that out this weekend), Or a leaky head gasket (I really don't want to pull the head right now).
When I adjusted the valves I did notice that the head gasket at the front of the motor was folded down into the overhead cam chain well. Is there anything else I should be looking for?

Great site,

Fred
Old 08-03-2002, 03:16 PM
Contributing Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Welcome to the forum Fred. The only thing that I could thinl of would be a clogged pcv valve. Maybe one of the more experienced mechs on this board can chime in.
Old 08-03-2002, 03:26 PM

I had a problem with an low idle, and it turned out to be clogged injectors! I added some Chevron Techron and everything came out ok. Maybe give that a try! By the way, welcome to the site! :fireman:
Old 08-03-2002, 07:52 PM
Contributing Member

cant really help you out, but just wanted to say welcome to the board. alot of helpful people in here. they dont hesitate to answer dumb questions...me being an expert in that field.

-m
Old 08-03-2002, 08:31 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: newbie with a problem

Originally posted by Fred Anarat
Hi everyone