Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

New black rims and overhead console installed

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2006, 07:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New black rims and overhead console installed

Just finished installing my new rims and overhead console this weekend on my truck. The rims are black procomp 7089's 16x8 w 4.5 bs w/ 285 BFG AT KO's. No rubbing at full turn so far. These took forever to arrive due to them being backordered for months. I also installed a overhead console that I purchased from a JDM parts dealer in New Zeland. The unit was originally gray and has been painted black. I hope at some point I can find some paint that matches the factory trim.

The console install for the sunroof model involved swapping the sunroof controls from the original into the JDM version. The blue sunroof plug in my truck was different in size and pins compared to the JDM console. I am no electrician so I found it easier to just swap the sunroof control from my existing console into the new overhead console. The unit does not have or need the metal bracket like the non-sunroof version JDM console and it also does not require you to swap your mirror out or cut your headliner. The two consoles are almost identical minus one screw hole for the sunroof controls . Wiring involved splicing the newly swapped sunroof control to the JDM white wire harness and connecting the sensors and illumination. I did not have to swap the light bulb fixtures and switches due to them being identical as well. The console attaches at the same screw hole as the original on the roof. If anyone knows what the JDM white harness (white and blue/white) sunroof switch light dimmer wire would connect to please let me know. I have left the two unconnected for now. The unit seems to work without the two wires.

Old 08-15-2006, 07:20 PM
Contributing Member

Looks good!

Thread hi-jack: